Eleventh Biennial Coalition for Education in the Outdoors Research Symposium

We write to remind you that the Eleventh Biennial Coalition for Education in the Outdoors Research Symposium is just a month away. It will be held from January 13-15, 2012 at Indiana University’s Bradford Woods.

Registrations have been arriving daily, but it’s not too late. If you’ve been meaning to register, please do so. The registration information and preliminary schedule of events and papers are attached and also available at www.outdooredcoalition.org.

Here’s what you can look forward to:

· The symposium will include over 30 research presentations (see attached schedule) on various outcomes or aspects of outdoor programs conducted in school, camp, college, adventure, and other contexts. Many of these papers investigate program components underlying outcomes.

· We have structured time for participants to identify and discuss issues and challenges facing our field.

· Peg Smith, Chief Executive Officer of the American Camp Association and active participant in the No Child Left Inside Coalition, is the featured speaker on Friday evening. (See http://www.acacamps.org/about/pegsmith)

· Beyond the formal presentations, the symposium is a unique and ideal opportunity to interact with others in the field. The event attracts established and emerging scholars from a host of disciplines and leaders from professional associations and agencies. As such, it is a gathering of persons that would not occur at any other conference. The setting, the people, and the program make opportunities for meaningful conversation abundant. The CEO symposium has been the starting point for many long-lasting research and professional collaborations.

· The combined lodging, food and registration costs for the weekend range from $208 – $248, depending on the type of lodging selected.

Please join us again in January. You won’t be disappointed.


Karen Paisley Andy Young Sharon Todd

For the CEO Research Committee

The Coalition for Education in the Outdoors (CEO), established in 1987, is an educational service of the State University of New York (SUNY) at Cortland. The CEO Research Committee includes:

M. Deborah Bialeschki, American Camp Association

Camille Bunting, Texas A&M*

Chris Cashel, University of Oklahoma*

Alan Ewert, Indiana University

Michael Gass, University of New Hampshire

Karla Henderson, North Carolina State University

Leo McAvoy, University of Minnesota*

Karen Paisley, University of Utah

Keith C. Russell, Western Washington University

Jim Sibthorp, University of Utah

Anderson Young, SUNY Cortland

*Emeritus Committee Members

CEO 2012 Reg Info.pdf

CEO Symposium SchedulePRELIMINARY.pdf

Have a Comment? Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.